Kimono My House: 50 Years Later LP (Various Artists)


*If you would also like a digital download of this record, please simply email [email protected] after making your purchase and we will send you a Bandcamp link and code.


Sparks first became a household name in the UK in 1974 when their iconic song ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough for Both of Us’ hit number 2 in the singles chart. Their Top of the Pops BBC TV performance of the song is remembered vividly by everyone who saw it, bringing brothers Ron and Russell Mael into the front rooms of millions across the country that evening.

After two attempts at making it big in the early 70s with Bearsville Records albums ‘Sparks’ and ‘A Woofer in Tweeter’s Clothing’ Ron and Russell Mael ditched the rest of the first Sparks lineup and moved to London. It was there they signed to Island Records and recruited a new lineup that struck gold at the first time of asking with ‘Kimono My House’.

Chock full of witty but complex lyrics, sparkling guitars from Adrian Fisher and complimented perfectly by the rhythm section of Dinky Diamond and Martin Gordon, ‘Kimono My House’ is rightly heralded as a legendary ‘glam’ rock album. However, it’s the sheer quality of the songwriting, largely from Ron Mael and the soaring vocal performance of Russell Mael that surely ensures ‘Kimono My House’ is heralded not only as a fan favourite Sparks album but also as one of the very best albums of the entire decade.

Now, on the 1st of May 2024 Kimono My House turns 50 and Pale Wizard Records pays tribute to this most special of albums the best way we know how… We present ‘Sparks – Kimono My House – 50 Years Later’. The whole album re-imagined by a roster of great rock bands from around the world.
releases May 1, 2024

Mastered by Tony Reed
All artists appear courtesy of their respective labels, with our warm thanks.

1. This Town Ain't Big Enough for Both of Us - Phoxjaw
2. Amateur Hour – Tony Reed
3. Falling in Love with Myself Again – Earl of Hell
4. Here in Heaven - Josiah
5. Thank God It's Not Christmas – Sergeant Thunderhoof
6. Hasta Mañana, Monsieur – Krooked Tongue
7. Talent Is an Asset - Silvery
8. Complaints - Chaosmonaut
9. In My Family – Black Helium
10. Equator - Besvärjelsen

Available in two different vinyl formats:

'Moon Over Kentucky' Edition 12" Vinyl
Limited to just 200 copies. Cloudy Purple and Transparent heavyweight vinyl.


'Eaten by the Monster of Love' Edition 12" Vinyl
Limited to just 200 copies. Aside/Bside effect, Solid Red & Solid Yellow heavyweight vinyl.

Please note: Vinyl versions do not include bonus tracks.

Artwork by Sara-Jane Swettenham

A Pale Wizard Records release 2024