Never Turn Your Back On A Friend: 50 Years Later LP (Various Artists)


*If you would also like a digital download of this record, please simply email [email protected] after making your purchase and we will send you a Bandcamp link and code.

In June 1973, a little trio from Cardiff in Wales called Budgie released their third album 'Never Turn Your Back on a Friend'. Recorded at the legendary Rockfield Studios, this album firmly cemented their legacy as a dynamic force to be reckoned with in the hard rock movement of the early seventies. With their music being covered by the likes of Van Halen, Iron Maiden and Metallica, it is clear that Budgie have left an enduring mark upon the music world as we know it.

'Never Turn Your Back on a Friend' built upon the hard rocking and progressive elements of their first two records, helped along nicely by the now legendary opening song 'Breadfan'.

Tragically in 2022, their lead singer, bassist and founding member Burke Shelley passed away at the age of 71. Now in 2023, exactly fifty years after it's original release, we pay tribute to this awesome album.

1. Alunah - Breadfan 05:29
2. Firegarden - Baby Please Don't Go
3. Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell - You Know I'll Always Love You
4. Regulus - You're The Biggest Thing Since Powdered Milk
5. Syncolima - In The Grip Of A Tyrefitter's Hand
6. Great Electric Quest - Riding My Nightmare
7. Sergeant Thunderhoof - Parents

Available in two different vinyl formats:

'Nude Disintegrating Parachutist Woman' Edition
Limited to just 200 copies. Cream with black splatter.
Luxury gatefold sleeve, poly lined inner and full colour double sided insert.


'Guts' Edition
Limited to just 150 copies. Blue and black half and half vinyl with white splatter.
Luxury gatefold sleeve, poly lined inner and full colour double sided insert.

Please note: Vinyl versions do not include bonus tracks.

Artwork by Sara-Jane Swettenham

A Pale Wizard Records release 2023